Ottawa County students invited to partake in work zone safety art contest

The Ottawa County Road Commission (OCRC) is inviting students who are staying home and staying safe for the remainder of the school year to participate in the OCRC’s inaugural Work Zone Safety Awareness Poster Contest.

Students of all ages from Ottawa County are invited to participate in this activity, which supports National Work Zone Awareness Week, April 20–24, 2020. The awareness week promotes safe driving through work zones.

Young artists are asked to design a roadside sign that emphasizes one or all of the work zone safety tips:

  • Stay Focused/Avoid Distractions.
    • Avoid distractions like using a phone, eating or adjusting dashboard controls like the radio.
  • Obey Flaggers and Work Zone Signs.
    • Flaggers are people who help direct traffic safely through work zones. It is important that motorists obey directions given by flaggers and any temporary traffic control signs or devices. These help to define a safe path through the work zones.
  • Slow Down, Move Over.
    • Workers are often just feet away from motorists. That’s why Michigan’s “Move Over” law requires drivers to move over one lane when an emergency or road agency vehicle is on the side of the road with its lights flashing. If it is not possible to move into another lane due to traffic, weather, or road conditions, the motorist should slow down and pass with caution.

If you want your student to participate in this year’s contest, you have two options:

How to Share:

  • Student artwork can be shared on your own Facebook or Instragram accounts. Be sure you tag Ottawa County Road Commission (@Ottawacorc) in order for us to see the creation.
  • Send an email of the creation to us! Simply send an email to Communications Administrator Alex Doty at! Don’t forget to include the student’s first name, age and grade.

The best entry as determined by our staff will be featured in future OCRC publications and public awareness campaigns throughout the 2020 construction season.

The deadline to participate is Monday, April 27.