Sprinkling Ban for portion of Ottawa County begins Aug. 11

Effective at 6:00 a.m. Tuesday, August 11, 2020 the City of Wyoming has declared a Level Three Water Emergency.  It is therefore necessary to impose a total sprinkling ban within all communities served by the City of Wyoming Water System.  The communities affected include the Ottawa County communities of Park Township, Holland Township, Zeeland Township, Olive Township, Blendon Township, Jamestown Township, Georgetown Township, and the City of Hudsonville.  Please refer to the map for the service areas that are affected.

“Water remains safe and drinkable so long as the water pressure is maintained,” says Director of Public Works Myron Erickson, “the emergency repair itself doesn’t impact water quality. However, low system pressure may impact water quality due to cross connections. That is why it is incredibly important to follow this temporary Sprinkling Ban.”

The emergency repair will take one of the two water transmission mains out of service, reducing the capacity of the water system. Currently, the City of Wyoming water facilities are pumping at maximum rates to meet peak summer demand. With only one water transmission line active, the water system cannot maintain the high water demand caused by summer irrigation. One transmission line can meet the demand of indoor water use. If water system users do not abide by the Sprinkling Ban, low pressure and low volumes of water are a distinct possibility.

We need our drinking water customers to stop using water for irrigation until further notice. We expect this Sprinkling Ban to last no longer than two weeks. This means no sprinklers or irrigation systems can be used while the repair takes place. Together, we can reduce water demand during this critical time.

For more information, visit www.wyomingmi.gov/SprinklingBan or contact the Wyoming Water Office at (616) 530-7390 or the Wyoming Water Plant at (616) 399-6511. Residents of the customer communities of the Wyoming Water System may also contact their respective communities’ water office.